Scene setter: Home

The first few blog entries aim to set the scene for my day to day life here in Kigali… This one is about my home.

Kigali is split into many areas with different characteristics, just like London. I’ve made home for myself in Kimihurura, which is becoming the new business hub of Kigali, attracting many expats. My street has a big hotel with a great pool and one of the best restaurants Kigali has to offer.

I live in a large five bedroom house that I share with two MIT students who are working on a Science Lab in the local university. We have a wonderful dog called Jameson, who is beyond excited every time you come home and tries every trick in the book to get some of your food.

I am very grateful for the standard of living I have here. The house is spacious and to my great delight has reliable electricity, hot running water and good wifi reception. We have a house keeper who comes four times a week to clean and help us with our washing, as clothes are mostly hand washed.

As the days go past, I draw more and more comparisons between my life here in Kigali and the life I had back in Estonia as a child.

I remember my grandma washing clothes by hand in the garden every weekend and how her hands hurt afterwards. I remember my great grandmother praying before meal time and how it made me feel scared of the holy spirits. I take great comfort in these memories as they help me relate to the people around me today.

Leave a Reply

