The new chapter

After five and a half amazing years at EY, I decided it was time to look beyond the corporate world and explore what else is out there.

It had become clear to me that I wanted my success to have significance and I needed to test the waters as to what that means to me personally.

Therefore, I decided to take a sabbatical and apply to become a Kiva Fellow.

An application form, two rounds of Skype interviews and a week of training at Kiva HQ in San Francisco later, I found myself on a flight to Rwanda… my home for the next four months.

So, what does it mean to be a Kiva fellow, besides living in a lush beautiful country?

I see my role splitting into three categories:

  • Sharing the inspirational stories of borrowers – meeting local entrepreneurs and sharing their success with the Kiva lending community and the general public
  • Creating a safe space for lenders – conducting borrower verifications to ensure every party involved in the Kiva process is protected and respected
  • Creating new opportunities for Kiva – working with local institutions to create new lending products and partnerships to further Kiva’s mission in the field

I am excited and humbled by this opportunity and I’ll go into it with an open mind and heart… Let’s see what the next four months bring!

KIVA_LOGO_TAG_RGB

Leave a Reply

